



FINAL REPORT

HERBERT SMITH FREEHILLS COMPETITION LAW MOOT 2024



Winning Team: The University of Hong Kong







Oral Round

London, 14-15 June 2024

Organising Team

Professor Alison Jones
Wajahat Jilani
Davide Canzano
Rhiannon Jackson
Draga Petrovic
Glyn Jones
Shauna Creamer
Barbara Norris
Anjali Gurumoorphy
Dennis Koudigkelis
Yagmur Yelligedik
Sedi Sakho
andez Ferraz Goncalves P

Ines Fernandez Ferraz Goncalves Pereira Yashmitha Manjunath Shivani Malik Elisabetta Zuddas Asli Ak Nomakhosi Ndebele

Judges

Peter Alexiadis Visiting Professor, King's College London

Stephen Wisking* Partner, Competition, Regulation and Trade, Herbert Smith

Freehills

Professor Alison Jones* Vice Dean and Professor of Law, King's College London

Ingrid Vandenborre Partner, Antitrust/Competition, Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher &

Flom

Frances Barr | Procedural Officer, UK Competition and Markets Authority

Christopher Brown Barrister, Matrix Chambers and Visiting Fellow, King's College

London

Sungmin Cho | Associate, Herbert Smith Freehills

Eric Morrison Technical Specialist, Financial Conducts Authority and Visiting

Fellow, King's College London

Sean Giles Senior Associate, Herbert Smith Freehills

Dina Lurje Head of Legal, Nord Security

Joe Williams | Senior Associate, Herbert Smith Freehills





Dr David Reader Senior Lecturer in Competition Law, University of Glasgow

Marie Becker | Associate, Herbert Smith Freehills

Lucy Mary Rose Chambers Associate, Weil, Gotshal & Manges

Jenny Patroclou Associate, Weil, Gotshal & Manges

Raveena Kumari Sethia Senior Associate, Shardul Amarchand Mangaldas & Co

Dr Amber Darr Lecturer in Competition Law, University of Manchester Law

School

Liana Sandulescu | Associate, Linklaters

Abhijeet Sinha Senior Associate, Herbert Smith Freehills

Gulalay Hammad Principal Case Officer, UK Competition and Markets Authority

Florian Bourdon Associate, A&O Shearman

Anastasija Rogozianskaja | Assistant Director, UK Competition and Markets Authority

Ben Lyon | Associate, Herbert Smith Freehills

Deni Vitkovic Legal Adviser, UK Competition and Markets Authority

Dima Talja | Associate, Addleshaw Goddard

Tom Kemp | Senior Associate, Herbert Smith Freehills

Raul Nieto | Assistant Director, UK Competition and Markets Authority

Daniel Irisarri Case Handler, European Commission

Ronan Flanagan* | Senior Legal Director, Legal Service, UK Competition and

Markets Authority

Jonathan Akinyemi Principal Case Officer, UK Competition and Markets

Anuj Ghai Associate, Goodwin Procter

Louise Aberg Legal Director, UK Competition and Markets Authority

John Kwan | Assistant Legal Director, UK Competition and Markets Authority

Julian Nowag | Associate Professor, Senior Lecturer, Lund University

The Right Hon Lady Rose of Colmworth* Justice of the UK Supreme Court

Todor Papanov Senior Associate, Van Bael & Bellis

William Kovacic* Professor at George Washington University and former FTC

Chairman

Problem question

Many thanks to **Professor Alison Jones, Dr Andriani Kalintiri, Dorothy Livingston** and **Stephen Wisking** for preparing the problem question.

^{*} Judge in the Final Panel





Participating teams

ORAL ROUND - QUALIFIED TEAMS

UNIVERSITY	COUNTRY	ALIAS
University of Antwerp	Belgium	Prechal
The University of Hong Kong Hong Kong		Ziemele
Catholic University of Lille France		Gratsias
University of Amsterdam The Netherlands		Jääskinen
National Law University, Jodhpur	India	llešič
Hidayatullah National Law University	India	Rantos
Eötvös Lóránd University of Budapest, Hungary	Hungary	Reed
National University of Singapore	Singapore	Jarukaitis
National Law University Delhi	India	Szpunar
Utrecht University	The Netherlands	Wahl
National University of Advanced Legal Studies, Kochi, India	India	Spineanu-Matei
University of Belgrade Faculty of Law	Serbia	Pitruzzella

Written pleadings - 49 PARTICIPANTS:

24 teams from India;

9 teams from the **United Kingdom**;

3 teams each from France, The Netherlands, and Hong Kong
1 team each from Belgium, Serbia, Singapore, Hungary, Brazil, Czechia, Cambodia

Many thanks to Abhijeet Sinha, Agathe Esche, Ali MacGregor, Amabel Stokes, Amy Liu, Anne Eckenroth, Ben Lyon, Christon Shenolikar, Daniel Masterton, Lina Hamidou, Louis Austin, Marie Becker, Phoebe Hirst, Sam Tappenden, Sean Giles, Sihame Sebhar, and Tom Kemp from Herbert Smith Freehills; Deepaloke Chatterjee from Clifford Chance; Liana Sandulescu from Linklaters; Raveena Kumari Sethia from Shardul Amarchand Mangaldas & Co; Shounak Banerjee and





Adnan Farook, Amali Pitigala, Carlo Monegato, Mircea Dinu, Nanret Senok, Philippa Allan, and Rachel Davies, for their invaluable assistance in marking the written pleadings.

Written Round Ranking

- 1 University of Antwerp
- 2 The University of Hong Kong
- 3 Catholic University of Lille
- 4 University of Amsterdam
- 5 National Law University, Jodhpur
- 6 Hidayatullah National Law University
- 7 Eötvös Lóránd University of Budapest, Hungary
- 8 National University of Singapore
- 9 National Law University Delhi
- 10 Utrecht University
- 11 National University of Advanced Legal Studies, Kochi, India
- 12 University of Belgrade Faculty of Law

Oral Round Schedule & Outcomes

		Preliminary Round	
Group A	Prechal (C) - Ilešič (D)	llešič (C) - Szpunar (D)	Szpunar (C) - Prechal (D)
Group B	Ziemele (C) - Rantos (D)	Rantos (C) - Wahl (D)	Wahl (C) - Ziemele (D)
		Reed (C) - Spineanu-	Spineanu-Matei (C) -
Group C	Gratsias (C) - Reed (D)	Matei (D)	Gratsias (D)
		Jarukaitis (C) - Pitruzzella	Pitruzzella (C) - Jääskinen
Group D	Jääskinen (C) - Jarukaitis (D)	(D)	(D)

	Quarter-Finals		
QF1	Prechal (C) - Wahl (D)	Semi-finals	
		Wahl (C) – Spineanu-	
		Matei (D)	
QF2	Ziemele (C) - Szupunar (D)	` ,	Finals
QF3	Jaaskinen (C) - Spineanu- Matei (D)	Pittruzella C v Ziemele (D)	Ziemele (C) v Wahl (D)
QF4	Reed (C) - Pitruzella (D)		





(C) is for Claimant, (D) is for Defendant. The winning teams are in **bold**.

Awards

Winning Team

The University of Hong Kong

King Hei Chan, Zee Faith Lee, Ching Ho Wong, Connor Thomas Gregory

Runner-up Team

Utrecht University

Kriszta Portik, Helen Wychgel, Enno Kern, Manu Batra

Best Written Pleadings

University of Antwerp

Basile Coëme, Viktória Húšťová, Benita Masengesho, Ján Zbín

Best Advocate

Connor Gregory

The University of Hong Kong

The following participants were also commended for their excellent advocacy during the competition:

Ján Zbín (University of Antwerp), Andrej Zdravković (University of Belgrade), Marija Vranic (University of Belgrade), Faith Lee (University of Hong Kong), Ching Ho Wong (University of Hong Kong), Milind Khemka (National Law University Delhi), Divya Upadhyay (National University of Advanced Legal Studies, Kochi, India), Helen Wychgel (Utrecht University), Enno Kern (Utrecht University).

Congratulations!

Follow us & stay in touch on: Herbert Smith Freehills Competition Law Moot